The ‘I love my staff’ campaign provides an opportunity for students to recognise university staff members who have made an outstanding contribution to the student experience.

The Coventry awards ceremony on Tuesday 4 April, combined with the SU Rep Awards, had 80 students, staff members and their guests in attendance. Over 150 individuals were nominated for an 'I Love My Staff' award this year across the four Coventry faculties and CU Coventry, with more colleagues nominated at our London and Scarborough sites too. 

After an exciting shortlisting process, our panel of full-time officers chose two winners for each learning community. Details of the shortlists and winners can be found below and a copy of the programme from the evening can be seen here


Faculty of Arts and Humanities  

Yu-Hua Chen (Winner) 
Thomas Murtagh (Winner) 
Catherine Morgan 
Federica Jorio   

Faculty of Business and Law 

Gilbert Naab (Winner) 
Mahmoud Masud (Winner) 
Sule Akkoyunlu (Winner) 
Abdulrahman Mahmoud

Faculty of Engineering, Environment, and Computing 

Mark Johnston (Winner) 
Taras Yavorskyi (Winner) 
Arnaldo Carri  
Daniel Goldsmith   

Faculty of Health and Life Sciences 

Joanne Hurst (Winner) 
Louise Sewell (Winner) 
Chelsea Wood  
Jasmin Bhandal  

CU Coventry 

Alicia Fitzpatrick (Winner) 
Kat Szymanska Barrett (Winner) 
Luda Ruddock   
Manal Matough


All nominees and winners will receive a digital certificate, email footer banner and a copy of their nomination. 

Thanks to all students who took the time to nominate staff for the awards, and to all staff for their work and dedication throughout the year. 


See a range of photos from the awards ceremony on 4 April 2023.

See the Photos


If you have any questions about the competition, email